Savannah, have you met…

Where do you draw inspiration from?
I’d say I draw a lot of inspiration from nature, from the cycle of life.  In terms of starting a painting or series of any kind, I find there’s a little quiet voice in my head that says, “Paint this.” How could I not follow that?


What’s the hardest thing about being an artist?
All the stuff that isn’t making art–the business end.


Who’s your favorite artist?
Robert Motherwell, Vermeer, Artemesia Gentileschi, Christo and Jeanne-Claude… oh– just one?


What other medium would you like to try?
I’d love to work with clay… ceramics or sculpture.  Anything that lets me get my hands in the mud will probably make me very happy.


What’s something people wouldn’t know about you?
Most people wouldn’t know that my original plan in life was not to be an artist, but a social worker/counselor.


What song gets you pumped (excited)?
This is bound to change on a regular basis, but an old favorite of mine is “This is the Sea” by the Waterboys.


If you were to win the lottery what’s the first thing you would do?
Probably scream.  Then do a happy dance.  Then, if it was one of those bazillion dollars wins, I’d spread it around!


On a man which do you prefer, dress shoes or cowboy boots?
Cowboy boots!


What’s a guilty pleasure of yours?
The dark chocolate and crystalized ginger bar by Chocolove.  Standing in the check-out line at Brighter Day can be an act of sheer will with all those bars lined up beside me… this one in a mossy green wrapper.  Yum.


What do you like and dislike about Savannah?
I like that Savannah is such a small town and I dislike that Savannah is such a small town.


For more information, or to see more of Melinda’s paintings visit her website.

One thought on “Savannah, have you met…”

Leave a Reply

