Savannah, have you met…



What was the first thing you ever sewed?
AS:  I sewed a lot of small things as a little kid, but the first real ‘project’ I would say was some shift dresses when I was in the 6th grade. I cut up a bunch of my moms vintage linen table cloths and got into a lot of trouble for it.
EM:  The first thing I ever sewed was a drawstring backpack I made out of an old shower curtain. I used the pre-existing grommets to pull the drawstring through, and I carried that bag until it fell apart!

What is your favorite fabric and why?
AS:  I love working with all types of fabrics…naturals like linen, tenccel and bamboo…even raw silk. They have great texture and are easy and fun to work with.
EM:  My favorite fabric is definitely wool cashmere! The sheen, the weight, the texture…everything about it is so beautiful. You just can’t compare a high quality wool to a synthetic imitation because there’s simply nothing quite like it.

What are three things every sewer should have?
AS:  A 1×6″ ruler, embroidery (thread) snips, and an iron.
EM:  Forged sewing shears, some sort of marking tool (I love water soluble markers), and a seam ripper!

When you were in grade school, what did you want to be when you grew up? Why?
AS:  A veterinarian and a mechanic…I have always loved being around animals and workig with tools. 
EM:  A professional soccer player…but I started making clutches for everyone on my team out of old bed sheets and it was decided (initially by family and friends) that I should go into the fashion industry. So I changed my ambitions a bit!

If you had a “theme song” that played whenever you walked into a room, what would it  be?
AS:  Peewee’s Big adventure soundtrack.
EM:  99 Red Balloons. Not for any particular reason, I’d just like to hear it whenever I walk into a room.

If you had one extra hour of free time a day, how would you use it?
AS:  Go for a walk through the squares with my husband and pups.
EM:  Oh this is easy, I dream about this all the time! I would spend it reading while cuddling with my honey, Maddie, my Boston Terrier.

If you were to perform in the circus, what would you do?
AS:  I would like to say that I would be an acrobat, but I think I would have to be a clown or the bearded lady. 
EM:  I’m definitely not one for performing, so I’d be behind the scenes making costumes.

What article of clothing best describes your personality?
AS:  My vans…I have worn a pair of vans every day since I was in the fourth grade.
EM:  Adidas Sambas, my favorite pair of shoes.

What do you like about living and having a business in Savannah?
AS:  Savannah is so beautiful and the people watching is phenomenal here.
EM:  Just about everything! But most of all I love the creative atmosphere and the people who live here. Those two things make it extremely enjoyable to own a store in Savannah. Some days I can’t believe my good fortune when I get to spend a day talking to interesting people about their projects and bouncing idea off one another.

How would you like to see Savannah change?
AS:  It would be awesome to see more locals support for the downtown community. I think we still have a lot of people who view downtown as only nightlife or as unsafe. Hopefully in the coming years we will see some serious growth in the downtown area and get more businesses and in turn see more visitors and revenue to the city. Savannah seems to be a revolving door of really interesting people, it would be so awesome to see more of them stay and make Savannah their permanent home and place to open their creative businesses. 
EM:  I would love to see more support for downtown businesses, from locals and the city as a whole. So many people perceive shopping downtown to be a hassle, but this misconception keeps people from discovering all of the awesome stores that are down here!


Be sure to stop by Fabrika Fine Fabrics and say hello to both Ashleigh and Emily at their beautiful and bright new fabric store located at:

2 East Liberty St.
Savannah, Ga 31401
912-236-1122

You can visit them online at their websiteFabrika Fine Fabrics blog, or on Facebook!

2 thoughts on “Savannah, have you met…”

  1. great little article! you have no idea how happy i am to realize just now that you're still open and in a great new location! i drove past the old spot today and just about cried…. i thought you were gone forever! coming to buy fabulous fabric soon, it's been way too long!

  2. Love this article! When my husband and I were in Savannah this past summer we rode past your old location while on a carriage tour. I, being a lover of fabric, spotted your shop right away! We didn't make it in during that visit but I quickly looked you up on the internet and am super excited to drop by when we are down this coming summer! Best of luck in the new space! XxOo~M

Leave a Reply

