Savannah, have you met…

What inspired you to choose the profession you chose?
To be honest, I didn’t set out to have a career as a photo stylist or an even designer. I sort of fell into both. I was a retail store owner and thought I would be for the rest of my life. I had been photo styling the entire time I owned my shop and only considered it a good alternative when the economy started its downward spiral. Photo styling and event design are similar in that the end goal is to produce the perfect setting, one for photography and one for a celebration. I feel very lucky to be in a field that lets me be creative every day.

What do you do to get over a creative block?
I don’t encounter these a lot. I’m open to inspiration everywhere so I suppose I’m always creating whether I have an assignment or not. I just store it away in journals, file folders and on my computer for a later time which might be what keeps me from having creative blocks. I’m all stocked up on ideas that I can pull from when I need to. 

If you could design a celebrity’s home, whom would it be and why?
I can’t say that there is a single celebrity that I’m crushing on enough to want to design their house. I would gladly be a personal shopper or scout for vintage furnishings for a celebrity or anyone else for that matter. I love a good treasure hunt.

You have a book through Chronicle Books that will be released in 2012. How do you think your life will change once it hits the shelves?
Oh my, I’ve been so caught up in the writing and editing of the book that I hadn’t really let myself think about it. I hope it leads to some really choice editorial assignment, speaking engagements, workshops, and weddings but ultimately, I hope it leads to a contract with a company to design products.

What’s the hardest thing about owning your own business?
Paperwork, I have said that for years even when I had my store. I much prefer being creative than crunching numbers, invoicing people, booking appointments, etc. I dream of having an assistant that will do it all for me. 

On a man what do you prefer, bow tie or neck tie?
I prefer a neck tie but bow ties are so cute and Southern. It depends on the suit.
What’s the last thing that made you laugh out loud?
My seven year old son. Often.

What’s a guilty pleasure of yours?
I have two. Estate sales and house hunting.

What song and by what artist gets you amped (hyped) whenever you hear it?
Home by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros. I sing it to myself everytime I’m in an airport waiting for a flight home, which is often these days.

What do you like and dislike about Savannah?
When I closed my store I told my husband it was really the only reason we had stayed in Savannah so long and said if we could live anywhere where would it be. It got us thinking about all the things we wanted in our dream city. Our list looked something like this:

near the ocean
historic
Cool things and places within a days drive.
medium sized
access to a good airport
mixed cultures
creative community

When we took a good look at the list we realized we already lived in a city that had all of it. So I like it for all of those reasons plus a bunch more. It is beautiful, it has a wonderful climate (except August), great friends, the architecture and culture, the diversity, it is easy to navigate, walking city.

What I don’t like:

The smell of the paper mill.
August heat
The lack of forward thinking leaders in office.
pollen
public schools
sand gnats
mosquitoes


Visit Elizabeth Demos at her website and don’t forget to stop by her portfolio to view her jaw-dropping work. 

Elizabeth Demos
Event Design and Styling
114 East 40th Street
Savannah, GA 31401
912-308-4435

One thought on “Savannah, have you met…”

Leave a Reply

