Savannah, have you met…

Can you explain your duties as the Coordinator of High School Initiatives for Savannah Technical College?
As Coordinator of High School Initiatives, I am responsible for high school students coming into Savannah Technical College to obtain college and high school credit. I oversee four counties (Bryan, Chatham, Effingham, and Liberty) regarding dual enrollment. The process includes me working practically every department on Savannah Tech’s campus while being a liaison between the various high schools and career academies. I serve on several committees and advisory boards as well. This is an exciting opportunity for high school students to begin their collegiate endeavors and post-secondary education. 

What is the best advice you have to offer teenagers?
The biggest investment one can make is in themselves! I often share my educational philosophy as I speak to students at various events which is, “There is no rehearsal for life, only a performance and the best stage to perform on is education!” I encourage students that when they invest in themselves, the return is always great!

If you could be anything in the world, what would you be and why?
LOL!! It used to be an actor, or celebrity! (which could still happen) However, if I could be anything in the world it would be me and all that it encompasses! I am a very confident person and I enjoy being me and I believe that absolutely no one could be a better “me” even on “my” worst day!

When you were in grade school what did you want to be when you grew up?
Successful. I can’t really recall wanting a specific job or career. I just knew I wanted to be successful and happy while doing whatever I became. This still remains my focus and I have no intentions on changing it.

If you could spend fifteen minutes with any person from past or present, with whom would it be?
From the past would be my father. He passed away in 2006 due to a catastrophic stroke causing irreversible damage. I was 26 years old at that time, and I had been fortunate enough to have grown up in a house with two parents who had been married for over forty years! One would think that at age 26 I was indeed a grown man and had all the proper teachings to be a leader. Well, for the most part I felt that I did, but in hindsight, I had so many other questions that I would have liked to ask my teacher…my father. Or better yet, so many other things that I would have liked for him to know I learned. As for the present, It would have to be President Barack Obama! I was actually on campus when he came to Savannah Technical College; however, I was not able to personally meet him. I would have asked him, “What influenced you to run for the nations’ highest and most prestigious office?” I also would have asked “What has been your biggest task” and “What was the first night like in the White House with your family?”

What song (artist and title) get you pumped?
I have about 2000 songs on my phone with a huge variation of artists. I listen to everything from hip hop to classical! However, when I have a busy day ahead of me, you can find me listening to Ace Hood’s Hustle Hard! This is my method to getting through some days and staying focused. If I want to be successful, then hustling has to be the pace in which I move!

What is one thing about you people would be surprised to learn?
WOW! Ok…don’t tell anyone but when I was younger, I had an issue with not the color of my skin, but more so the complexion of my skin. I was teased in middle school due to my “dark” complexion. It effected my self-esteem somewhat, and it was something that caused me to really question why I look the way I did. However, around eighth grade and the entrance of high school it all changed, and by 12th grade…let’s just say homecoming king was yours truly!

What is your favorite local restaurant in Savannah?
I like Carrabba’s, Huey’s, and Wild Wings just to name a few. However, none of these places compare to my wife’s cooking! She is an awesome cook and is always trying new dishes!

Name a movie that almost or did make you cry.
“Almost” is the word here that we should focus on! It would have to be Rosewood, when Esther Rolle’s character gets shot for stating the truth! Powerful!

What do you like and dislike about Savannah?
I love downtown. My wife and I couldn’t stay away when we first moved to Savannah. As for a dislike, I would have to say it’s small things like pedestrians thinking they “always” have the right-of-way! The crazy thing about it is that sometimes they do, but it’s a person versus a car! How about you just stay on the sidewalk and survive another day. LOL!!


Christopher Williams keeps himself busy in and around Savannah providing mentorship to young students, as well as being an Ambassador-Chamber of Commerce. 

Leave a Reply

