Savannah, have you met…

Your name is spreading like fire amongst the foodies of Savannah. Where did you receive your training?
I worked for several amazing chefs, Frank Stitt, Apil Bloomfield, Michael Anthony, and Sean Brock to name a few. 

I see that you were a chef at Gramercy Tavern in NYC. How were you able to transition from living in the Big Apple to becoming a Georgia Peach?
Well, I am from Savannah, so the transition back here was easy. I really enjoyed my time in New York, it was the most educational time of my cooking career.

If you could share a kitchen for one day with a celebrity chef, whom would it be?
Marco Pierre White, so he could yell at me with an English accent for twelve hours straight.

When you’re home, what is your favorite dish to prepare for yourself?
I don’t cook at home that much, but I would say spaghetti amatriciana or pizza.

After a long day at work, how do you wind down?
Ice cold PBR

I refuse to share movie theatre popcorn. Is there any particular food that you want all for yourself… or am I just greedy?
Hot wings. And, you are greedy.

What type of music do you prefer listening too when in the kitchen creating your dishes?
Waka Flaka Flame. He makes me happy.

Besides the Cookie Bar & Grill, do you have a favorite local restaurant that you like to frequent?
The Sparetime! Awesome drinks and awesomer food!

What is one thing about you that most people would be surprised to know?
I eat hotdogs and tacos exclusively. I avoid fine dining if at all possible.

What do you like and dislike about living and working in Savannah?
I love Savannah. It is my home. But the diversity of food options could be better. We are all working on it!
James Levens food creations can be found at:

6700 Waters Avenue
Savannah, Ga 31406
912.355.0977

3 thoughts on “Savannah, have you met…”

Leave a Reply

