Savannah, have you met…

You’re from Macon, Georgia. What brought you to our sweet little city, Savannah?
I went to Georgia Southern University in Statesboro and frequently visited Savannah. During my college years I just fell in love with how beautiful this city is. After college I moved to Atlanta but quickly realized I preferred Savannah’s slower pace and beautiful atmosphere. I’ve been here ever since.

You are the owner of Savannah Pet Sitters, LLC. Tell us a bit about your company.
We offer pet sitting and training to the residents of Savannah and surrounding communities. Owners who have special needs pets or prefer not to board their animals find that our services fit their needs.

What does the normal day consist of when working with animals?
Anything and everything in between! Haha! I could start my morning walking dogs and end up taking care of a snake or exotic fish. I also do a lot of training for animals with severe behavioral issues. As you can image that can be tricky but I love it. Helping a dog and its owner have a better relationship is great and definitely gives my job a lot of purpose.

If you had an extra hour a day, how would you spend it?
Cooking! I love to cook but I always end up putting it off. I have some good recipes in my repertoire but I’d love to learn more. I have no idea how to make Indian food so that will probably be my next project.

You work alongside your husband, Daniel. How do you manage both a working relationship along with a husband/wife relationship?
He has been so wonderful since I started my business. He designed my website and continues to manage it now. Daniel has a quieter personality so he’s actually really great with rescues and more skittish dogs. They always open up to him so he’s a great tool to have! Somehow we’ve managed to work together pretty seamlessly thank goodness. 

What is the first thing you do when you wake in the morning?
Drink some coffee and pry my pups out of bed to take them on a walk. Both of them would much rather stay in bed in the mornings. 

Do you have a favorite place to take your dogs to play?
I love Fort Pulaski. It’s so peaceful out there and there are several panorama views of the ocean. I’ve seen a lot of dolphins and or otters out there. We also frequent Daffin Park Dog Park to play and walk.

If you wanted someone to know one specific thing about you, what would it be?
I’m a really friendly person. I love to strike up conversations with just about anybody.

If you had one day to stroll the streets of Savannah, what local boutiques and restaurants would you stop by?
I could go on for days! My favorites are Back in the Day Bakery (Cheryl Day and her pup Ella are some of our favorite clients!) Public, and Zunzis. I love going into Red Clover! It is definitely my favorite store in Savannah. I also love The Paris Market and Custard Boutique.

What do you like and dislike most about living and owning your own business in Savannah?
The only thing that I’ve had a hard time adjusting to is the heat! I feel like I’m melting all Summer. Also driving around this beautiful city behind tourists all day can be a little frustrating but I try to remember that when I first came here I spent all my time looking up too. 




2 thoughts on “Savannah, have you met…”

  1. Erica is our pet's favorite sitter! she is so great with them and I know that they are in good hands! Makes me feel much better when i have to be away from our fur babies. Scrappy and Itty send their love Ms. Erica! xoxoxo

  2. Erica is fantastic! She was extremely accommodating with my schedule and was great with my dog Winston, who can be a little bit of a handful. After just a few months, Winnie not only behaved better when out for walks, but was also so much better on a leash. I highly recommend Erica. She is trustworthy, amazing at what she does, and is one of the warmest people I've come across in quite awhile.
    Thank You Erica- Winnie & Carli M.

Leave a Reply

