Food 101 {Madras Chicken Curry Salad}

Madras Chicken Curry Salad Sandwich
4-6 servings
1 pound of skinless chicken breasts
small onion of your choice
1 lemon
grapes 
madras curry powder
mayonnaise 
leaf lettuce
pita pockets
I’m going to take a leap of faith and assume you know how to cook, cool, and shred or cube chicken. If  not here is a link to a regular chicken salad I did a while back. 
Place prepared chicken into a large mixing bowl and get to choppin’! I’m a lover of onion and adore the  sweetness of grapes so I don’t shy away from these additions. Add as much or as little to suit your individual or family needs. Chop the onion, and cut the grapes in half. 
In small bowl I start with 1/2 cup of mayonnaise… here is where I admit I don’t so much measure. I simply shake, or pour the curry powder in but I would assume 2-3 tsp of Madras curry powder. Squeeze in a half a lemon with a hefty pinch of salt. Stir sauce.
Combine all ingredients. Place in pita pockets with leaf lettuce or any bread of choice! For a healthier alternative place a scoop on top of a salad for a lighter lunch. 
*Fun alternatives: toasted walnuts, white raisins, cilantro, tart apple, greek plain yogurt. Play around and enjoy this dish several ways!

Leave a Reply

