Savannah, have you met…

You are the owner of Measure. Tell us about your fabric parlor!
Measure: a fabric parlor is a special place! It is a different kind of fabric store – its warm, comfortable and relaxed. We even have a toy poodle parlor-dog named Coco. She keeps us happy and she greets customers with her little prance and sweet heart. Once here, we are happy to help but we also try not to overwhelm you, it’s your time to shop. Enjoy shopping, we love helping our customers find exactly what they need. Our specialties are in apparel, upholstery, and draping fabrics; but leather, trimmings, notions, and pretty much anything you can dream up related to fabric and sewing projects we are able to supply. We are located at 311 Whitaker Street at Liberty Lane, we have a bike rack available in the lane and we love having customers stop in to say “hi” and catch up!


I am obsessed with beautiful, whimsical, AND quality fabrics! Explain to the YWS reader the difference between the fabrics that they can find in your parlor vs. a store like Joanns. 
I think the number one thing to remember when looking at fabric is fiber content. People are not aware of the difference between fiber content and description. Places like Joannes and Hobby Lobby don’t necessarily focus on educating their customers on good quality and the important of fiber content, so people are not used to it. It’s just lack of knowledge and we at Measure have found it very easy to work with the customer so they have a better understanding and appreciation. 

You are a graduate of SCAD. What was your major?
I am very proud to be a SCAD alumnus with a BA in Fashion Design. It introduced me to fabric and the different functional possibilities. I fell in love with textiles! After gaining professional experience in merchandising and buying I was able to combine these experiences! My time at SCAD definitely influenced my career path and helped me gain the professionalism and confidence necessary to become an entrepreneur. 

If you had a “theme” song that played whenever you entered a room, what would it be?
This is a great question. I grew up with a mother and father who always had music playing in the house. I now find that I too play music in my home and at Measure – its such a great way to enjoy the time. My theme song would have to be, “Don’t Worry. Be Happy.” by Bobby McFerrin. I always try to look at the positive and I have found that happiness is the best way to achieve success!

What is one thing that most people would be surprised to know about you?
Everyone in Savannah thinks they know me as a pastel, vintage, reclaimed Maria you see when you come into Measure. But in high school I was more athletic. I played softball and basketball for about 9 years. 

If you had an afternoon to stroll Savannah, what restaurants and boutiques would you be sure to stop by?
You just described my ideal day off! I would start with dessert from Back in the Day Bakery, then tea at The Coffee Fox, tidbits at Dept. 7 East, shop for cards at Cardeologie, shop for vintage gifts at Wright Square Antique Mall get a new baking tool at Kitchen’s on the Square and treat myself to some jewelry at ShopSCAD, followed by burgers at Green Truck Pub and drinks at Sparetime. That is an ideal world of course! 

Name one person that has the greatest influence on your current way of thinking.
My family and my best friend are who keep me going. I would not have been able to open Measure without any of them. I have a very large support system and I could not accomplish or get through a day without them all. Cell phones, Face Time, and email have made them all a part of my daily life and inspiration. 

After a long day at work, how do you unwind?
This is often the case! Usually by that point in the day I need to get outside and expand some energy. I like to walk or bike around the beautiful city – there is always something new to discover.

As the owner of a fabric parlor you must have a ton of aspiring designers coming to you for advice. What’s the best advice you have to the ones just coming up?
Get ready for the ride of your life! I tell students that SCAD is challenging, and that is because the design world is challenging. I continually tell them to build relationships with their peers and to reach out to the peers and fellow graduates even after they have graduated. Also, we love helping our customers with fabrics advice! What types of fabric are good for their designs or other options they should consider. I want them to leave Measure knowing quality fabrics. 

What do you like and dislike most about living and running a small business in Savannah?
I love how walkable the city is. I can walk for hours and I love having that freedom within this cozy community. I will admit that I dislike the crime; however, in the many years I have been living here it seems to have drastically decreased. 

Leave a Reply

